Northcote

Melbourne

Home type
House
Home size
4+ bedrooms
Parking
Covered off-street

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Single$921 per month (excludes bills)
Date available
6 January 2022 for 6 months plus
Bedroom size
Large bedroom (queen bed size)
Bedroom furniture
Without a bed
Features
  • Shared bathroom
  • Built-in wardrobe
  • Air-conditioner
  • Double glazed windows
  • TV aerial outlet
Security bond
1 month
Other information
Great medium to large size bedroom. Heaps of closet/wardrobe room - at the moment the room fits a queen sized bed, extra large desk and bookcase. Overlooks a quiet, leafy court with beautiful sunsets.
Bond is $1,150

Home Description

Description of the home

Our lovely Andrea is heading home to Columbia which means we are on the hunt for a fabulous housemate to join this amazing house.

We are located on the border of Brunswick and Northcote so we are minutes from the 96, 11 and 86 trams and Northcote Station. Close to CERES and a 25 min ride to the CBD.

Legend has it the house was built as an architect-designed luxury family home. This means it works surprisingly well as a sharehouse. Many common areas (living space with study nook, kitchen, patio, rooftop terrace) mean there is ample space to relax and socialise. While large and well-spaced bedrooms mean you can always get some chill time to yourself.

The house is fully furnished except for your bedroom. Other things worth mentioning are the three-car garage and the fact that there are three bathrooms and a powder room - we could all sit on the loo at once if we so wished!

Home features

  • Air-conditioning
  • Living area heating
  • Broadband Internet
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes washer
  • Clothes dryer
  • Study or office
  • Storage room
  • Balcony, patio or deck
  • Courtyard, garden or yard
  • BBQ facilities
  • City views
  • Neighbourhood views

Bills and expenses

All bills are shared equally including water, electricity, gas and internet.

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
  • Female, straight
  • Female, lesbian/bi
  • Male, gay/bi
Age group
  • 31 to 35 years
  • 36 to 40 years
Smoking at home
Non-smoker
Pets
No cat or dog
Main interests
  • Art and culture
  • Bars, pubs or clubs
  • Cooking and food
  • Creative interests
  • Current affairs
  • Movies
  • Music
  • Reading
  • Television
  • Travel
About the occupants
Brandon - Brandon works full –time, 9-5, as an architect. As a housemate Brandon’s pros include wingspan - he is rather tall and can always reach the top shelves, while his cons include a tendency to fall down the stairs in socks.
In his spare time Brandon always has a DIY project going on. Why spend hundreds and thousands on designer furniture when you can lug home a 40kg piece of stone and attempt to make yourself a coffee table?

Ellen also works full time 9-5 admin at a hospital. In her downtime Ellen can be found recreating Alison Roman's back catalogue of sumptuous dishes.
She loves a weekend explore around Victoria and going to live music, and is the most impressive indoor plant mumma around.

Lara is bit of an academic who loves awkward cooking shows and NFL. Can often be found on the rooftop sunbaking or sipping vino. Longs to be a muso but may have missed her chance..
Compatible people
We are looking for someone who is friendly, considerate and genuinely happy to do their bit to keep the house running as smoothly as it currently does. This includes being reliable with bills and rent and keeping communal spaces clean and tidy. We have been lucky to enjoy friendships within the house and would like this to continue with whoever moves in, but we're also respectful of the need for space and privacy.

The house would be perfect for you if you're easy-going, enjoy sharing the occasional meal, drink, or movie night. Ideally you’d want a house that is more of a home than a party house. No pets (love them but landlord will not allow) and LGBTQIA+-friendly.

At the moment Lara works from home while Brandon and Ellen are in their offices - there is plenty of room/areas for all of us to work from home if required.

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
Any gender/sexuality
Age group
25 to 40 yrs
Smoking at home
  • Non-smokers
  • Outdoors okay
Pets
Without a cat or dog