Abbotsford

Melbourne

Home type
House
Home size
4+ bedrooms
Parking
No off-street parking

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Single$524.50 per month (excludes bills)
Date available
5 September 2020 for 2 months plus
Bedroom size
Medium bedroom (double bed size)
Bedroom furniture
Without a bed
Features
  • Shared bathroom
Security bond
Discuss
Other information
The room up for grabs is medium-sized with enough space for a double bed, small desk and wardrobe. It comes unfurnished. It is sunny and light-filled despite looking on to the neighbouring property's wall!

Rent is $524.50 pcm and includes internet. Bond is $548 and you will need to go on the lease (the agency charges a fee for this). We are holding interviews this week.

Home Description

Description of the home

Hello Flatmate Finders, we are looking for someone to share our Abbotsford abode. :)

THE HOUSE
It’s large, double-fronted and Victorian. There are five bedrooms, a living room, bathroom, kitchen and laundry. We have front and back gardens with a seating area out the back. The fifth bedroom is kept as a spare/storage room. It's heritage-listed so we can’t pretend it stays cosy in winter, but the thick walls keep it relatively cool in summer - no AC required! We have a cleaning roster to keep things tidy and are not a party house, although partners and friends are welcome. 

We are a short (~6 minute) walk from Collingwood and Victoria Park stations and a large number of surprisingly useful bus routes. Woolies, Aldi, Chemist Warehouse and Saigon Village (cheap fruit and vegetables!) are an easy 10-15 walk. There is one parking space out the back which Tom is currently using. Street parking requires a council permit (annual fee).

Bond is $548 and you will need to go on the lease (the agency charges a fee for this). We are holding interviews this week.
Please get in touch with a bit about yourself and what you’re looking for in a share house and we’ll be in touch to arrange a socially-distanced viewing. :)

Home features

  • Broadband Internet
  • Clothes washer
  • Storage room
  • Courtyard, garden or yard

Bills and expenses

Unlimited internet is $15 each per month. Water, electricity and gas are divided evenly when they arrive. Ideally you would take over water bill from the outgoing housemate. Last time I did a rough estimate they came to about $80 each per month. This may be less since the electricity and gas company changed us to a cheaper plan.

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
  • Female, straight
  • Male, straight
Age group
  • 25 to 30 years
  • 31 to 35 years
Smoking at home
Non-smoker
Pets
No cat or dog
Main interests
  • Animals and pets
  • Art and culture
  • Cars or motorbikes
  • Cooking and food
  • Creative interests
  • Current affairs
  • Health and fitness
  • Movies
  • Natural therapies
  • Personal development
  • Reading
  • Socialising
  • Spirituality
  • Sports
  • Television
  • Travel
  • Writing
About the occupants
Celia (33) - actor, usher and teacher (French and English). Enjoys going to the theatre and spending time in the kitchen.  

Tom (31) - barista and soccer aficionado. Enjoys travelling and cooking turmeric chicken. Works in an organic café and supermarket.

Stephen (28) - communications graduate and supermarket part-timer. Also loves soccer and talking vegan food tips.

When COVID isn't happening we have varying schedules so are not often at home at the same time but we share chats in the kitchen when we cross paths.   
Compatible people
We are looking for a female or female-identifying person in their late 20s to mid 30s who is clean, tidy, responsible and self-aware. With four independent adults living in a house, being willing and able to talk about any issues that may arise is important.

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
  • Females (str)
  • Females (gay/bi)
Age group
25 to 35 yrs
Smoking at home
Non-smokers
Pets
  • Without a cat or dog
  • Cats okay