Bassendean

Perth

Home type
House
Home size
2 bedrooms
Parking
Uncovered off-street

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Single$175 per week (includes bills)
Date available
10 February 2021 for 6 months plus
Bedroom size
Medium bedroom (double bed size)
Bedroom furniture
Without a bed
Features
  • Shared bathroom
  • Air-conditioner
Security bond
1 month
Other information
The available bedroom is 3.36m x 2.9m, and gets plenty of sunlight throughout the day. There is ducted air conditioning in the room however this is not zoned so you can’t control it separately from the rest of the house.

Home Description

Description of the home

The house is in a great location! We’re 500m from Bassendean train station, 1km from the local Hawaiian shopping centre (Coles and such), 1.5km to the river, and a heap of good cafes, bakeries, restaurants and bars only a walk away. I also enjoy how eclectic the suburb is with houses of many styles dating back to different moments in its long history - side note for anyone interested in architecture or who just doesn’t want to live in a suburb that looks the same.

It’s cliched but this house feels like a home. It’s a cosy 3x1, light drenched, well maintained 50 year old, with jarrah floorboards and timber architraves throughout. The owners are prompt with attending to any repairs so the house is in excellent condition.
One of the bedrooms is currently used as an office space that has two large jarrah desks in it - you’re welcome to claim one if you want a creative space or somewhere to read or game... whatever floats your boat.
The kitchen is quaint and equipped with a gas stove and oven. It's probably never been upgraded since the original build but still works perfectly well and is a workable size, although not big by any standard.
The bathroom is a decent size and has a bath and shower. The toilet comes off the laundry.
All the living areas are furnished with some space to bring in your favourite armchair, bookshelf or microwave (suggestions).
There is one ceiling fan in the main living space and ducted evaporative air conditioning through the rest of the house. The aircon is effective at cooling the house most of the time; I don’t use it very often just as a personal preference so I haven’t bothered to learn enough about the system to figure out why it doesn’t work ALL of the time.
I’ll mention again that the house is very well lit; there isn’t a space anytime of day that doesn’t have access to sunlight. This brings in tremendous energy and positivity and creates great areas to chill and read in.
I have some pictures and art hanging on the walls as well as plants throughout the house. I’d encourage you to get involved in this so that you feel comfortable in the house.

It has a large backyard that’s mostly grass which is our responsibility to keep alive but is professionally cut every month at no expense. It has a small veggie patch that I started and am cultivating with the hope to expand - and perhaps bring in chickens; a large shed for working on creative projects or just as a bit of extra storage space :)

Home features

  • Air-conditioning
  • Living area heating
  • Broadband Internet
  • Clothes washer
  • Study or office
  • Storage room
  • Courtyard, garden or yard
  • Electronic security

Bills and expenses

Bills are electricity, gas, water and internet. However, I've included the average cost of bills into the cost of weekly rent.

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
Male, straight
Age group
25 to 30 years
Smoking at home
Non-smoker
Pets
No cat or dog
Main interests
About the occupants
Hi! My name's Tim and I'll be your house mate :)
I'm 29 years old and I run, meditate, cook, chat/listen, read, draw, sing (only for fun and being silly) and see my friends. I'm usually a social drinker but this year have set a goal to be sobre as I approach my 30th birthday in October. I don't think I'm much different to anyone else, to be honest, but I enjoy life as I am and respect others as they are :) I have a sense of humour and love sarcasm as a way of testing people and coaxing out the hidden parts of their personality but never with mal-intent. Kindness, compassion and connection is my wheelhouse.
Until very recently, I never thought of myself as being spiritual but as I learn more about it my interest grows. I mean this purely in the experiential expanding and elevating of conciousness and not through any metaphysical belief system. If you're interested in this stuff or read about it I'd love to chat or contemplate with you :) if not, all good too! I'm very welcoming and grateful of ideas, beliefs and cultures that differ to my own.
For money I work in a bar in Northbridge, for experience I volunteer my time with some not-for-profits in the mental health sector and I intend to study psychology at some point, this year or next.

I believe in personal growth, relentless positivity and the power of the mind. I have a lot of time for people who try practice self-awareness :)
Compatible people
You'd be tidy, respectful, kind and compassionate and won't need reminding to clean. You enjoy tending to houseplants and the garden. You like to read books and watch movies. Enjoy having discussions and mindless chats equally. Have a sense of humour and a hobby. Big bonus if you have some kind of meditation practice or a doggo (cats are alright too).

As long as you're comfortable being yourself and are happy sharing a space I know we'll get along :)

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
Any gender/sexuality
Age group
25 to 40 yrs
Smoking at home
  • Non-smokers
  • Outdoors okay
Pets
Pets okay