Ebbw Vale

Gold Coast and SE Queensland

Home type
House
Home size
3 bedrooms
Parking
Uncovered off-street

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Single$200 per week (includes bills)
Date available
14 May 2021 for 6 months plus
Bedroom size
Large bedroom (queen bed size)
Bedroom furniture
With a bed
Features
  • Shared bathroom
  • Wardrobe or rack
  • Ceiling fan
  • Desk available
Security bond
2 weeks
Other information
Quite large. Fridge, microwave, toaster oven with hot plates, jug, TV, desk, drawers, sink, clothes rack. You walk in with just your clothes and be right to go. I have a Queen bed for the room, but as many people have their own beds, I will wait till I know whether it is needed before moving it. I am putting in some more lighting tonight (over the sink). You have your own key to your room, and discrete entry. You also have your own "Google home" to play music, ask things, set alarms etc. Particularly good for shift workers.

Home Description

Description of the home

1960s workers cottage with the back area separated as your room. Big (85") TV, Netflix, high speed internet, comfortable lounge area. I run a business from the front of the house and try and keep that separate, and noise to a minimum when I am in a therapy session. Currently, 2 large dogs that love people. Rear patio that is my workshop and boat repair. In-between 2 train stations, bus stops (on main road 100m to bus), and across the road from a Servo. This would suit anyone with or without a car. We share the kitchen, shower, lounge and toilet. Electronic security on the main areas.

Yard is quite big and great for dogs. Plenty of storage space. I have a horse float if you require a trailer for moving. It is also used to repair boats and other machinery.
You are welcome to use any of my machinery (with me there). Large steel gate protects any gear in the yard, as does the dogs.
I have a security system that is monitored that reports back to a base station and has alert buttons.

Home features

  • Ceiling fans
  • Air-conditioning
  • Cable or satellite TV
  • Broadband Internet
  • Electronic security

Bills and expenses

Everything included except food. We can choose to share food or not. You have a fridge, microwave and sink in your room, so you can be as private as you want. You are welcome to use my kitchen and lounge as much as you like.

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
Male, straight
Age group
41+ years
Smoking at home
Non-smoker
Pets
Have a dog
Main interests
  • Animals and pets
  • Cars or motorbikes
  • Community work
  • Computers or Internet
  • Movies
  • Natural therapies
  • Personal development
About the occupants
Phil here, 54 and separated, and NOT looking. Restarting as a shift worker in disability care. I have also run my therapy business consistently for 26 years while doing other work. Metal worker, hypnotherapist, Physicist, Engineer. Harley, boats and work vehicles. Play a couple of instruments (blues mostly) and love my German Shepherds. Social drinker maybe once a week. Non-smoker. Easy going. Wanting to get out sailing more often. Kitesurfing, windsurfing (tends to be rare now) and diver.
Uni grad twice, and understand the needs of a student. You can have plenty of space.
I am a Justice of the Peace, have just resigned from the Prisons, and have no tolerance for drugs. So please keep that in mind before applying.
Compatible people
Sense of (weird/dark) humor, with a quiet caring nature that tend to look after others. Probably a good idea to not be too politically correct. If you are an introvert, that is fine. The room is fairly self-sufficent, and just the shower is in the main part of the house. I prefer non-smokers, but if you only smoke outside, that is fine. Movie buffs will like my digital collection.
Description of pets
Ivy, the prom queen Shepherd, and Axel, the quiet gentleman Shepherd. They love company. You will need to love dogs as they will give you no other choice. Resistance is futile.
I have marked for no pets on the part of the tenant. If you do have a well behaved dog, that would probably be fine. Only 1 of my 2 is permanent, and the other is shared custody. Mind you, if your dog shreds my lounge, I would expect it to be replaced. I buy 1 stuffed animal a week from lifeline to keep mine in chewing fodder.

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
  • Females (str)
  • Males (str)
  • Females (gay/bi)
Age group
25 yrs+
Smoking at home
  • Non-smokers
  • Outdoors okay
Pets
Without a cat or dog