Alphington

Melbourne

Home type
House
Home size
3 bedrooms
Parking
Uncovered off-street

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Single$880 per month (excludes bills)
Date available
13 December 2018 for 6 months to indefinite
Bedroom size
Large bedroom (queen bed size)
Bedroom furniture
Without a bed
Features
  • Shared bathroom
  • Wardrobe or rack
Security bond
1 month
Other information
Room measures 3.3m x 3m

Home Description

Description of the home

A light-filled 3 bedroom + sunroom home, situated in a quiet leafy green pocket of Alphington. Updated facilities where it counts! The bathroom and kitchen have been renovated and are neat and easy spaces…The rest of the house has a few quirky angles but still charming enough to get away with it :) The living room is a furnished cosy haven in winter thanks to an effective gas heater and a cool respite with the air con during summer.

There is a massive backyard with room for a gardening enthusiast to plant a veggie patch or two and a long garage/undercover space that runs the length of the the yard. I use this space as a home studio where i work on my design business.

I like to think I'm a tidy individual…most would agree! We have a weekly cleaning rotation currently in place, it works well and we would like to keep it going with a new housemate that is happy to fall into the rhythm and pull their weight without having to be asked.

The street terminates at the lovely Darebin Parklands, a great space for walking and taking in a bit of nature. Station street is a 10min walk or 2min drive away, there are a variety of shops, cafes and restaurants to sample.

Home features

  • Air-conditioning
  • Living area heating
  • Broadband Internet
  • Clothes washer
  • Study or office
  • Storage room
  • Courtyard, garden or yard

Bills and expenses

All bills split equally three ways. Gas, electricity, water, internet.

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
  • Female, straight
  • Male, straight
Age group
  • 36 to 40 years
  • 41 years or over
Smoking at home
Outdoor smoker
Pets
Have a dog
Main interests
  • Art and culture
  • Cooking and food
  • Creative interests
  • Movie goer
  • Music
  • Reading
  • Socialising
  • Travel
About the occupants
Hiya, I'm Katie, 38yr old single female. I work for a jeweller two days a week, sub contract in signage and graphic design work around that, and from home the rest of the time(not as much as I’d like these days!). You will usually find me tinkering out the back in my studio, making jewellery, restoring furniture or recreating found objects…i'm not a hoarder but i do love a bit of hard rubbish foraging :) I usually have a number of projects on the go at any one time and would love to share the house with someone of a similar creative ilk.

I sing in a soul group and a small jazz ensemble, I love a good session of cards or backgammon over a chai in the evenings, or just a bit of netflix to wind down.

Troy is 45, attached and has an adorable sidekick in his fur pal Chloe. He works freelance as a carpenter and joiner and is in town while saving to build his dream permaculture pad on his block up in Mt Beauty. He enjoys a very active lifestyle with lots of rock climbing and cycling during the week, he’s also interested in photography and sustainability/social issues.
Compatible people
We are looking for a housemate who is mature, reliable and easygoing.

Someone who is happy to take their turn to help keep the place clean and tidy so we can all enjoy a week or two off from the housework without having to be prompted. Happy to pitch in with a bit of a gardening blitz every now and then would be preferred also, by all means if you have a green thumb lead the way! We recycle, We compost green waste, not 100% sure how to make the compost a roaring success but there are worms everywhere so we must be doing something right! maybe you can help? :)

I wouldn't describe this home as a party house, quite the opposite. We enjoy relaxed evenings during the week (when home) and are looking for someone who is happy to share this type of household in a quiet peaceful neighbourhood. Preferably working full time but also happy to socialise when they are home and not spend all of their time in their room. Alone time is fine by the way!….we all need it, it's just about balance and having the opportunity to create friendships, not just living arrangements :)
Description of pets
Chloe is a 5yr old staffy/sheepdog X with an awesome easygoing nature. She loves a good patch of sun, belly rub or a long fast bike ride through the parklands with dad in the afternoon.

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
  • Females (str)
  • Males (str)
Age group
31 yrs+
Smoking at home
  • Non-smokers
  • Outdoors okay
Pets
Without a cat or dog