Albion

Brisbane

Home type
House
Home size
4+ bedrooms
Parking
Covered off-street

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Single$150 per week (includes bills)
Date available
25 January 2021 for 6 months plus
Bedroom size
Large bedroom (queen bed size)
Bedroom furniture
Without a bed
Features
  • Shared bathroom
  • Ceiling fan
  • Use of separate room
  • Adjoining room
Security bond
1 month
Other information
You actually get two rooms - bedroom plus private living room/study. The house is so big that we have divided it into 4 apartments of 2 rooms each. There are also another two communal living rooms on top of this.

Home Description

Description of the home

Albion. House is extremely spacious and extremely good value.

Queer, alternative and kink-friendly house in inner Brisbane.

Albion. $150 per week, includes bills. Yes, we know this is amazingly good rent. We were just really, really lucky to get this place when it was available. We're good tenants and keep it clean, so the landlord is very easy to get along with. What's the catch? There kind of isn't one.

All up, the house is a sort of gigantic old Queenslander. Three current housemates and we're looking for only 1 more person (or perhaps a couple). You'd be getting two good-sized rooms to yourself. Your rooms would be towards the back of the house.

House has:
2 bathrooms
2 toilets
2 living rooms
Butler's pantry
Grassy front and back yards
Courtyard
Lots of under-house storage
Even has 2 fireplaces!

The train station is a 3-minute walk away, we're also close to cafes, supermarket and all that stuff.

Preferred ages 23-45. You must be employed or studying. Our house is not suitable if you are looking after children.

Also, we have a resident cat named Ralf - he is sweet, friendly and very chilled.

Home features

  • Ceiling fans
  • Broadband Internet
  • Clothes washer
  • Clothes dryer
  • Study or office
  • Storage room
  • Courtyard, garden or yard
  • BBQ facilities

Bills and expenses

Included bills:
Gas, power, internet and Netflix

Combined rent and bills are paid into a "house account" and automatically deduct from it. Everything is shared equally.

Food:
That's up to you, though we also have a cupboard of communal food - stuff like rice, flour, cooking oil, etc.

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
  • Female, lesbian/bi
  • Male, gay/bi
Age group
  • 25 to 30 years
  • 36 to 40 years
Smoking at home
Outdoor smoker
Pets
Have a cat
Main interests
  • Animals and pets
  • Art and culture
  • Bars, pubs or clubs
  • Business
  • Cooking and food
  • Creative interests
  • Health and fitness
About the occupants
Three current housemates - we basically do our own thing most of the time:

Sam (25 F, queer, poly) - Professional nurse
Martin (37 M, genderfluid) - Works in media
Fraser (39 M, queer) - Works as technician and studies electronics
Compatible people
What we're looking for:
Employed or studying
Considerate
Open-minded
Able to stick to a housework schedule
Respects common areas
Description of pets
Ralf is a confident, friendly and clumsy 5yo short-hair cat. Doesn't shed much and is never aggressive. Vaccinated, chipped, desexed, bell on collar, inside at night - all the usual responsible owner stuff.

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
  • Females (gay/bi)
  • Males (gay/bi)
Age group
25 yrs+
Smoking at home
  • Non-smokers
  • Outdoors okay
Pets
  • Without a cat or dog
  • Cats okay