Abbotsford

Melbourne

Home type
House
Home size
3 bedrooms
Parking
No off-street parking

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Single$947 per month (excludes bills)
Date available
5 September 2020 for 6 months plus
Bedroom size
Large bedroom (queen bed size)
Bedroom furniture
Without a bed
Features
  • Shared bathroom
  • Built-in wardrobe
  • Good view or outlook
Security bond
1 month
Other information
Available mid-August (open to negotiation given current stage 4 restrictions), this bedroom easily fits a queen bed plus other furniture and has plenty of storage with a large built-in wardrobe. The room is north facing with natural light and a big window to let in fresh air. The bedroom is private, located at the front of the house and on a quiet street. Rent is paid monthly at $947 ($218 per week) and bills are split equally. Bond is $942.

Home Description

Description of the home

One of our roomies is moving out due to the current COVID climate. This means our cosy Abbotsford home is looking for a lovely third housemate! The location is amazing, we are just down the street from the Abbotsford Convent, Yarra River, plenty of green spaces and some top notch coffee.

Our house is a gorgeous double-bricked semi-detached home with hardwood floors in the bedrooms and living room, and tiling in the kitchen and bathroom. There are high ceilings and ducted heating in every room so it’s a dream to live in and double-bricked means it stays relatively cool in summer. The kitchen is huge, we have a separate bathroom and toilet and a big, light-filled (& plant-filled!) living room. We also have a big courtyard with a shed. We are very house proud and like to keep it neat and tidy (and are looking for someone who enjoys living in a clean and pretty space). We have most of the furniture already set up but can look to make space to accommodate things if needed.

Additional info:
- You will be signing onto the lease (there is a $230 application fee + bond)
- The room will be available in mid-August
- The bedroom will be unfurnished
- No couples/pets/smokers
- We can be flexible on furniture for the shared parts of the house (a couple of smaller items will also be needed)
- Rent is paid monthly (on the 15th of each month via direct debit)
- No parking permit is available

Home features

  • Living area heating
  • Broadband Internet
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes washer
  • Courtyard, garden or yard

Bills and expenses

Bills (gas, water, internet, electricity) are split equally (we each take on some of the communal bills then split).

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
Female, straight
Age group
25 to 30 years
Smoking at home
Non-smoker
Pets
No cat or dog
Main interests
  • Art and culture
  • Cooking and food
  • Creative interests
  • Current affairs
  • Health and fitness
  • Music
  • Reading
  • Socialising
  • Travel
About the occupants
You will be living with:

Maddie (30) has been living in the house for a few years. She is a teacher who loves cooking, indoor plants, art, hikes, travel, yoga and a good cup of tea. She is a busy gal, and in normal times is often out and about enjoying all the great eats and river walks in the area, but is also partial to a night in on the couch just hanging out.

Lauren (29), normally active, often out and about with a busy schedule at work (working full time as a Doctor) but also enjoys spending a night in with a movie and a housemate dinner. Loves music, going to gigs and going to brunch.

Our current lockdown hobbies include lounge room yoga sessions, movie nights, river walks and sourcing the best local coffee/take away dinner/cinnamon scroll in our 5km bubble 😊
Compatible people
What we are looking for: A friendly, clean person who generally works full time and knows how to respect other people and their things, communicate openly and look after a home proactively (i.e. happy to do some weekly cleaning). Someone who is up for a chat when we’re all home and the odd coffee or dinner together. We love a comfortable, calm, considerate, happy and homely vibe, like to try to be environmentally friendly and look out for one another (this isn’t a party house). We are looking for a likeminded housemate who is 27-35 years old, ideally a young professional and someone with share house experience who is wanting a long-term home.

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
Any gender/sexuality
Age group
25 to 35 yrs
Smoking at home
Non-smokers
Pets
Without a cat or dog