Abbotsford

Melbourne

Home type
House
Home size
3 bedrooms
Parking
No off-street parking

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Single$1301 per month (excludes bills)
Couple$1401 per month (excludes bills)
Date available
25 May 2020 for 6 months plus
Bedroom size
Large bedroom (queen bed size)
Bedroom furniture
Without a bed
Features
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Walk-in wardrobe
  • TV aerial outlet
  • Own outdoor area
Security bond
Discuss
Other information
Your room is the master bedroom of the house. It's enormous, gets beautiful morning sun, has its own private balcony, a walk-in wardrobe for all your sartorial fancies and an ensuite. It's on the second level of a three-level townhouse. With two large living areas, a private courtyard, heaps of light, and high ceilings, this is pretty much the best pad around for forced isolation.

*** Your rent has been reduced to $1301pcm (single) and $1401pcm (couple) for the next 6 months due to Covid-19. In Nov 2020 we will be re-negotiating with our landlord again. We have a good relationship with her but the rent could go back up to normal, which would be $1701 for the master bedroom pcm.***

Home Description

Description of the home

Our obscenely spacious, three-storey townhouse in leafy Abbotsford is looking for new residents!

We are the perfect forced-isolation home, with two living areas, several balconies, an outdoor courtyard and high ceilings. Located in a quiet cul-de-sac, our sustainably minded, friendly home has 3 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms (one of them has a bath!) and our top floor overlooks the river.

We are located on the doorstep of Yarra Bend park, so you have kilometres of parkland available to you right at your door. We are also conveniently located less than a 10min walk from Collingwood Station, Johnston St, the 12 and 109 trams and the Hive shopping complex on Victoria St.

There is no attached parking to the house but we are happy to discuss permit-sharing arrangements, otherwise there's some unrestricted parks nearby that you can snag :)

Home features

  • Ceiling fans
  • Living area heating
  • Cable or satellite TV
  • Broadband Internet
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes washer
  • Study or office
  • Balcony, patio or deck
  • Courtyard, garden or yard
  • Neighbourhood views

Bills and expenses

Bills are normal - gas, power and internet. We have a cleaner but are happy to negotiate whether this is ongoing with our new housemates :)

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
  • Female, straight
  • Female, lesbian/bi
Age group
  • 25 to 30 years
  • 31 to 35 years
Smoking at home
Non-smoker
Pets
No cat or dog
Main interests
  • Art and culture
  • Bars, pubs or clubs
  • Community work
  • Cooking and food
  • Creative interests
  • Current affairs
  • Fashion
  • Health and fitness
  • Movies
  • Music
  • Natural therapies
  • Personal development
  • Reading
  • Socialising
  • Travel
  • Writing
About the occupants
You will be living with two lovely ladies in their late 20s/early 30s:

Josie is late 20's queer/lesbian social worker who works full time with young people in a drop-in centre. In the pandemic times she likes to cook and bake food to share with others, study, look after house plants, do yoga, go for walks and runs by the Yarra and keep in touch with friends. Outside of the pandemic times she loves to travel, go camping and hiking, go out dancing, go to niche community talks, eat and drink outside of the home and do relaxing self care activities. Currently Josie is enjoying the spoils of working from home (such as doing admin whilst sunbaking on the balcony and struggling to find an ergonomic workspace).

Angela is a social worker and arts therapist working with young people in the homelessness and mental health sectors. When she's not in lockdown she's pretty outdoorsy, and enjoys yoga, cycling, hiking, camping, bouldering, or doing crafty artsy stuff. Pandemic Angela on the other hand has been enjoying slowing down, and spends her time weaving baskets, growing mushrooms, going on long (socially distanced) walks and learning how to crochet. She's a vego but loves the smell of fried chicken, really misses travelling the world, and has been deemed "essential" so has to work 2 days of the week on-site.

We all have our own thing going on (when the world isn't facing a global pandemic), but also love a house filled with laughter, yummy food, nice furniture and happy plants. We've been enjoying spending lockdown together playing board and card games, becoming apprentice bakers, doing yoga, sunbathing, having a drink or two, doing puzzles and having movie nights. It’s a grownup share house where we all take responsibility for keeping it clean and generally awesome.
Compatible people
Who are we looking for? A legend of a person or a couple, ideally, over thirty or thereabouts, employed full time, house-trained and happy living with queer people.

We would ideally love our new housemates to join us on the lease. Additionally our old housemates are moving out (they bought a new home!) so we will be losing all our furniture - so if you have furniture this is a plus! Otherwise we will slowly be replacing items bit by bit :)

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
Any gender/sexuality
Age group
25 to 40 yrs
Smoking at home
  • Non-smokers
  • Outdoors okay
Pets
Without a cat or dog