Altona

Melbourne

Home type
House
Home size
3 bedrooms
Parking
No off-street parking

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Single$700 per month (excludes bills)
Date available
9 November 2019 for 6 months to plus
Bedroom size
Large bedroom (queen bed size)
Bedroom furniture
Without a bed
Features
  • Shared bathroom
  • Built-in wardrobe
  • Ceiling fan
  • TV aerial outlet
Security bond
Discuss

Home Description

Description of the home

Spend summer (and autumn, winter, spring) 100m from the beautiful beach!

My 19yo introverted son and cat named Taco and I are looking for a mature, clean/not-too-clean westie to share our lovely sea-side house in the sweet community of Altona. Altona is a safe and secure little village with barely any crime, and lots of friendly people.

The unfurnished room is the downstairs master bedroom and is a decent size with massive mirrored built ins and some storage available in the shed. It features central heating for winter and ceiling fan for summer.

The house is in a great location in Altona, close to the local shopping strip, under a ten minute walk to the train station and a 20min drive to footscray.

We’re open to male/female, LGBTIQ, night shift and creatives, just responsible with reliable with bills, and hopefully open to some gardening. A longer term arrangement is preferred ideally. The right person will have an established life out west, may enjoy an active life style as running/cycling by the beach is amazing and local gyms friendly.

Did I mention 100m from the beach?

Home features

  • Ceiling fans
  • Living area heating
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes washer
  • Clothes dryer
  • Storage room
  • Balcony, patio or deck
  • Courtyard, garden or yard
  • Water views

Bills and expenses

1/3 of bills as there are 3 people dwelling here. Utilities are on concession rate as I am currently studying at uni.

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
  • Female, straight
  • Male, straight
Age group
  • 18 to 24 years
  • 41+ years
Smoking at home
Outdoor smoker
Pets
Have a cat
Main interests
  • Art and culture
  • Community work
  • Cooking and food
  • Creative interests
  • Current affairs
  • Fashion
  • Health and fitness
  • Movies
  • Music
  • Personal development
  • Reading
  • Socialising
  • Television
  • Writing
About the occupants
I’m a 42yo single mum who is studying community services at VU in footscray. I also run a small business and write/play music in whatever spare time I have so am pretty creative and happy. I like a pretty neat communal environment, but am not fastidious as I don’t have time. I love living by the bay for its sunsets, walks, birds and quiet.

My son is on the spectrum, very high functioning. This means he is a quiet ‘cave dweller’ who is respectful and introverted and house trained! He’s into music and photography.

We’re a friendly, creative people, pretty with busy lives and are not a party house. That being said, the occasional fire pit night can be lovely too.
Compatible people
-Clean/not-too-clean
-responsible and reliable with bills
-flexible and easy going (as we are!)
-good communicator but enjoys own time and space
-established westie (our last housemate found it hard commuting to Preston and the St Kilda for work, other than that she would give us a glowing reference)
-independent
Description of pets
Taco is a lovely black cat who is not too needy. We like him indoors at night to protect local wildlife.
We also have tropical fish that are cute and bother no one.

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
Any gender/sexuality
Age group
31 yrs+
Smoking at home
  • Non-smokers
  • Outdoors okay
Pets
Without a cat or dog