Bowen Hills

Brisbane

Home type
Apartment
Home size
2 bedrooms
Parking
No off-street parking

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Single$175 per week (includes bills)
Couple$200 per week (includes bills)
Date available
15 November 2019 for 3 months to plus
Bedroom size
Medium bedroom (double bed size)
Bedroom furniture
Without a bed
Features
  • Shared bathroom
  • Built-in wardrobe
  • Desk available
Security bond
Discuss
Other information
The bedroom is not currently furnished, but I am happy to provide a bed and desk if required.

Home Description

Description of the home

My apartment is in an Art deco purpose built block of only 4 flats, restored but very original, with a huge land area. The apartment itself is unashamedly over-decorated, as you will see in the photographs, full of art and nonsense. It is light and airy, with huge trees hanging over the front garden. Everyone who comes here falls in love with the charm of the architecture, and the welcoming energy.

My kitchen is not slick, but it is really functional, and I have lots of cooking equipment, as well as enough glasses and crockery to hold a biggish dinner party. The bathroom has an over bath shower, and an inbuilt laundry.

Bowen Hills station is 400m away, and the Bus stop is same in the other direction. The city centre is about a 15 min ride. You can get to the airport in less than 30 mins.
The river is 2 short blocks from the apartment, with beautiful walks in both directions.
For shopping, the Gasworks shopping centre is walking distance, with Woolworths, specialty food shops, bottle shop, Chemist, Medical centre, as well as dozens of eating options there and in the close walking proximity.
Although Breakfast Ck rd is at the end of our street, there is not much noise.

Home features

  • Broadband Internet
  • Clothes washer
  • Balcony, patio or deck
  • Courtyard, garden or yard
  • Neighbourhood views

Bills and expenses

All included in rent: Electricity, gas, Internet, Netflix.

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
Female, lesbian/bi
Age group
41+ years
Smoking at home
Non-smoker
Pets
Have a dog
Main interests
  • Art and culture
  • Cooking and food
  • Creative interests
  • Current affairs
  • Fashion
  • Movie goer
  • Music
  • Travel
  • Writing
About the occupants
Hello, my name is Lydia. I am 62 years old (going on 30), and have lived in this flat for the past 3 years. I moved here with my partner, who has since passed away, and I have had 2 fantastic housemates since then, one my age, and one early 30's. Both were a delight to live with.
I am a lecturer in fashion at QUT, and love my work.
I have 3 grown up children, 1 two year old grandchild, and a LOT of friends, so I am not at home very much on the weekend.
During the week I am usually out of the house early, and at home in the evening, but I don't take up much space!
I do hold the occasional informal dinner, and housemates are welcome to join, but only if they would enjoy it.
I am happy to work out the food to suit everyone. I like cooking but I am not often home in time to cook for the same evening.
I love music, and as long as it isn't blaring, I will happily listen to most..( maybe not Norwegian Death Metal)..
Compatible people
For me a good flatmate is friendly, interested, but independent. I keep the house relatively clean and tidy, but I am not super fussy. There is no expectation that we will have a common social life, but if we sometimes eat together or chat in passing, that is perfect.
Description of pets
Pippin is a small, obedient 4 year old moodle, with a very sunny and affectionate nature. Balls are his passion, especially with a willing human..He plays in the garden all day, but is inside at night (no balls inside).

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
Any gender/sexuality
Age group
31 yrs+
Smoking at home
Non-smokers
Pets
Without a cat or dog