Fitzroy

Melbourne - Inner

Home type
Apartment
Home size
2 bedrooms
Parking
Covered off-street

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Singles$375 per week (excludes bills)
Couples$475 per week (excludes bills)
Date available
23 July 2024 for 2 weeks to 1 month
Bedroom size
Large bedroom (queen bed size)
Bedroom furniture
With a bed
Features
  • Shared bathroom
  • Wardrobe or rack
  • Built-in wardrobe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Desk available
Security bond
2 weeks
Other information
I have a desk set up in the room with a chair, some lamps, sound dock, 2 lovely vintage Featherstone armchairs a comfy mattress on the mezzanine, a low energy useage heater, fan, Even a robe! Sheets can be provided if required. Please let me know if you want the room made up or have your own items you would like to use.

Bills to cover are water, electricity & gas which come to approximately $55 per week per person. Please note if there is changes to energy costs, excessive useage of utilities way above the average will need to be adjusted and the excess will require payment by the tenant.

Home Description

Description of the home

4.85 x 3.6 mtr room + mezzanine for rent in attractive, bigger than average apartment in Rose St, Fitzroy, very close to Brunswick and Smith streets right near Lune which is famous for their croissants. Rose street is vibrant and buzzing on Saturdays with the Mills and Artists markets open to explore.

I have a small gap before I do some renovations in my apartment that I have my spare room free but this may extend to up to a month or six weeks but I am thinking two weeks at least so this would suit a traveller. Or maybe someone doing a renovation themselves!

The room has built in robes and a mezzanine sleeping area which makes the space larger than average. However you do not want to be afraid of heights with the mezzanine!

There is a desk set up, lamps, armchairs and a very comfy mattress on the mezzanine. Furniture is just a little different to photos but much is the same.

The apartment is in a small 90's development of only 14. So no neighbours below, above or across and you can open up all the doors and windows and have lots of fresh air. There's only one main neighbour beside. It is nice and quiet considering its prime location. I like to think of it as an oasis in the heart of it all.

The apartment itself features 2 bedrooms, an open-plan living area, well equipped kitchen, central bathroom and an outdoor terrace area which is excellent for entertaining/relaxing. The apartment has a lock up garage with one car park which is available to rent (at an additional fee of $50 per week) if not being rented (it currently is) . Also available is a lock up bicycle area for free. The apartment is approximately 108 square meters in full.

If you like plants and art that is all my handiwork! They can attract little bug friends in certain weather so that is the pay off for their beauty and very and pretty/useful air cleaners. We just put out ant rid or sprays this is mainly a summer thing. The carpets in the bedroom and flooring in the bathroom are getting a bit tired but are acceptable and at least you don't have to panic over them. The carpets have been steam cleaned recently.

I have a brand new couch, dining table chairs and furniture and quite recently aquired Miele Washing Machine & Dryer.

I am house proud and like to keep the place tidy and presentable and expect a flatmate to follow the lead particularly in the common areas.

Home features

  • Air-conditioning
  • Living area heating
  • Broadband Internet
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes washer
  • Clothes dryer
  • Study or office
  • Storage room
  • Balcony, patio or deck
  • Courtyard, garden or yard
  • Spa or hot tub

Bills and expenses

Bills to cover electricity, water & gas approx $55 per week. This can paid into weekly fee given short term and bills may not come through the period. This MAY require adjustment should there be Government increases or tenant uses more than “standard”.

PARKING: Additional covered security car space when available at $300 per month

Rent is due in FULL monthly. I like to do payments as of 1st of month. A good way to remember!
So the first amount would be the balance of the month left.

For short stays under 1 month there is a $70 cleaning fee

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
Female, straight
Age group
41+ years
Smoking at home
Non-smoker
Pets
No cat or dog
Main interests
  • Art and culture
  • Bars, pubs or clubs
  • Business
  • Cooking and food
  • Creative interests
  • Current affairs
  • Fashion
  • Health and fitness
  • Movies
  • Music
  • Natural therapies
  • Personal development
  • Socialising
  • Spirituality
  • Travel
  • Writing
About the occupants
I’m a friendly, creative, individual working in design I have had my own business for a long long time!

I work Tuesday to Friday 10:30am to 6pm and sometimes a few hours on Saturday morning. I am reasonably social outside the home.

In my free time I like to listen to music, go on big walks or bike rides (especially along rivers) and dancing. I occasionally enjoy having friends over & having dinner parties. I love listening to podcasts, working on playlists, doing yoga, tending to my plants, designing, sewing, cooking, etc. Sometimes I may want to veg out, listen to music, experiment in the kitchen, read my tarot and learn new things.

I’m not a big fan of football, aggressive noisy movies or video games with shooting & prefer a peaceful environment however on occasion love to play some chilled tunes and have a good dance around the house! I still love going to festivals and heading out on occasion to events & dress ups!

This is my own home of over fourteen years so I am prepared to wait for the right person to keep the right energy in this space which I value as a precious refuge.

I am pescatarian and try and do a lot of plant based eating and try to be super healthy, try and eat gluten free, and like to buy and cook my own food over regular shared meals but really enjoy the occasional housemate shared meal and wine so a housemate who is into that would be lovely but not essential.

I am just offering short stays as I love the idea of travellers coming through and meeting new people and my goal is to be able to improve the "tired" parts of my home over time & I may be doing a few of those things over your stay such as gradually improving the bathroom, putting up new lighting, painting bits and bobs, etc.

The awkward stuff!: I respect people’s choices to do what is right for their body however I have a duty of care as a landlord, employer & someone who see’s clients up close. So I have chosen to vaccinate and need to ensure that any potential housemates are comfortable with vaccination too.
Compatible people
Someone happy, considerate, self aware, relaxed, kind, thougthful, active. Neat and tidy and reasonably clean (but not obsessive).

A person that is earthy, curious about life, adventurous and open to ideas. Some of my favourite house mates I have had amazing discussions about creativity, the meaning of life, We’ve played dress ups and danced around the apartment, and even though I like to stay earthed I love discussing deeper thoughts about the dimensions of our higher selves etc.

I am a non smoker and expect that of a housemate including no vaping. But I am not troubled if the occasional guest smokes on the patio.

I struggle with the smell of big sausage and meat cook ups so ideally another pescatarin, vegetarian or vegan. I am really seeking a flatmate who is mindful to the space and ideally doesn't eat red meat, sausages, hamburgers etc. Someone who is mindful about waste and resources (water, power, gas etc)

Also seeking a flatmate who respects common areas. Such as not leaving personal items scattered around the house and putting things away in cupboards thoughtfully. I feel keeping the space neat is important to a balanced considerate calm zen that oasis that I aim to enjoy and share.

The space works best when work times/commitments differ a bit. That way each flatmate gets a fair time of the common space to themselves. So ideally different to 10:30am to 6pm Tuesday to Friday. I also work through the late morning to early afternoon on Saturdays. Obviously some cross over is fine and nice but it exactly the same it can be tricky.

And finally I cannot have a housemate who works 100% from home but partially is ok. Work should be done within ones own room when both flatmates are at home.

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
  • Females (str)
  • Females (gay/bi)
  • Males (gay/bi)
Age group
18 yrs+
Smoking at home
Non-smokers
Pets
Without a cat or dog