Armadale

Melbourne

Home type
House
Home size
3 bedrooms
Parking
Uncovered off-street

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Single$220 per week (excludes bills)
Date available
13 December 2018 for 3 months to indefinite
Bedroom size
Medium bedroom (double bed size)
Bedroom furniture
With or without a bed
Features
  • Shared bathroom
  • Built-in wardrobe
  • Desk available
Security bond
2 weeks
Other information
Main bedroom, huge huge, gorgeous brass bed, antique chest of draws, dressing table.

Home Description

Description of the home

Most important this is a place to call home, to provide a sanctuary and a sense of belonging. Drama-free!!!! Beautiful California bungalow art deco free-standing house with a homely and +ve vibe. Fabulous outdoor/indoor area with couch for reading, resto, relaxo. Huge backyard garden, would suit a green thumb or anyone who wants to grow their own organic veggies.

There is air-conditioning in the main living room, though the house and main bedroom stays cool in summer. Fireplace for winter, cozy. A fabulous stereo in the main living area.

The main and largest bedroom is what is on offer, there is a smaller room which Voila is in and than there is my room (sunroom at back of the house). I have been living here for 10 years, at times I have lived on my own in the house and have realised that I prefer to co-living arrangements. For a year or so I did Air bnb, had about 50+ guest from all over the world stay and reviews were always positive noting that people felt at home.

Super close to transport options, three tram for going to the city/Chapel (order of closeness tram #5,64,6) - takes 10min to get to Chapel St, another tram for going into the heart of St Kilda (#16). Train station options 'Armadale' (8min walk), 'Malvern' (12min walk). Bus 605 to Flagstaff.

Local shops - 8-10min walk to Malvern Central.

Home features

  • Air-conditioning
  • Broadband Internet
  • Clothes washer
  • Balcony, patio or deck
  • Courtyard, garden or yard

Bills and expenses

Rent paid monthly in advance (weekly rate x52 / 12), rent includes wifi (unlimited). Single $953
Bills paid when or before due date directly to the bill, split three ways. Estimate below per person - depends on usage:
- Electricity between $20-25per month
- Gas (hot water and stove) - $30 per quarter (three months)
- Water - $30 per quarter

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
Female, straight
Age group
31 to 35 years
Smoking at home
  • Non-smoker
  • Outdoor smoker
Pets
No cat or dog
Main interests
  • Art and culture
  • Business
  • Community work
  • Cooking and food
  • Creative interests
  • Current affairs
  • Movie goer
  • Music
  • Natural therapies
  • Personal development
  • Reading
  • Socialising
  • Spirituality
  • Writing
About the occupants
My name is Sophia (call me Soph), I'm Aussie first born with a mixture of european influences, Georgian, French and Ukrainian. Many interests, my main interest is saving humanity by supporting the arts (its complicated, but simple). I've been pursuing a career change out of corporate project management to more meaningful work. Pro-bono I collaborate with a few different artists to support them to design and build programs which can make them commercial and financially viable. For my day job I've taken a career change to learn a new profession of elearning working in a simple admin role for an English language school focussed on supporting migrants and refugees to settling in Australia.

Mon-Fri I'm out the door 7:30am and home around 6pm, though during the week I'm busy with going to events, talks etc. On the weekend, I'm chilling at home listening to music and cooking some type of meal, I'm happy to share.

It's a arty type house, chilled and quiet at night (rarely in front of the tv), not a party house (unless we're party together). I live as eco-friendly as possible, freak out about with too much packaging. Moved into mostly consuming unprocessed food, fresh organic fruit and veg, this makes me mostly vegetarian, has the added benefit of minimal packaging. Have the motto, don't panic, its organic.

Viola just moved in, we meet at a meet-up she is an organiser for 'Melbourne creators'. We are like-minded want to live as a friend family vibe. Viola has traveled and lived in many different housing situations. Also, Bucket list Coach and recovering from a workplace injury. Enjoys socialising, keeping fit, nature.

We have independent lives but also enjoy getting together socially when the time is right to share a meal etc.

We look forward to welcoming good humans to come to join our tribe.
Compatible people
This is a home, not a boarding house, our style is to interact on a social level when time suits. Hopefully move beyond just pleasantries or talking about the weather. Our preference is to have some form of connection and care for the humans we share space with. Connection includes sitting down somewhat regularly for either a quick catch up or a deep discussion whatever the vibe is at the time, perhaps share a cuppa/meal, having a laugh, sharing our opinions on life views and philosophy. However, we also respect that time-out is good for the soul. Luckily the home is big enough that timeout can happen all over the home as well as in your room.

Be yourself, speak your truth always, respect others perspective, cleaning up after yourself. Values that would work well include being optimistic about the future, being a good person, seeing the good in people and avoiding passing judgment.

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
Any gender/sexuality
Age group
18 yrs+
Smoking at home
Non-smokers
Pets
Without a cat or dog