Ascot Vale


Home type
Home size
2 bedrooms
Covered off-street

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Single$804 per month (excludes bills)
Date available
20 January 2021 for 6 months plus
Bedroom size
Large bedroom (queen bed size)
Bedroom furniture
Without a bed
  • Shared bathroom
  • Built-in wardrobe
  • Good view or outlook
Security bond
1 month
Other information
The room is big enough for a queen bed and desk/shelving, large BIR, with a north facing window and a spectacular view across Moonee Ponds and Essendon. The carpet is brand new. There is no bedroom furniture.

Price excludes internet, electricity & water (internet is $35 each per month, and electricity and water are around $40 each a month, depending on the season and aircon/heater use).
Bond is $804.
If you'd like to be on the lease, there's a one off $200 compulsory fee to put your name on the lease through the Real Estate Agent.

Home Description

Description of the home

About the apartment:
The apartment is in a secure building with a huge communal courtyard and secure underground parking and elevator. There's only 1 underground parking space for the apartment - but there's lots of street parking, and there's also a bike storage area in the garage.

The communal courtyard has a lemon tree and herbs (basil, oregano, thyme, thai basil, sage, rosemary etc) which we can use as much as we like.
There's also a communal library in the foyer. Residents can take and exchange books as we please.

We're 5 mins walk to Coles, Union Street cafes, post office, dry cleaners, The Happy Apple green grocer, as well as a brand new Metro Woolies. Flemington Racecourse and Ascot Vale Leisure Centre gym/pool are also 3 mins walk. The 57 tram stop is 1 min walk, right at the end of the street, and it's about 15-20 mins to the city, and 10 mins to Highpoint Shopping Centre. The train is 10 mins walk or a 3 min drive. 10 min train ride to the city.

It's a fairly new apartment with a dishwasher, gas cooktop (but we don't pay for gas), decent sized balcony and the bathroom has a European laundry and shower over a big bathtub. I have a coffee machine, modern fridge, microwave, brand new washing machine and all household items already, so all you'll need is your bedroom furniture. There's a storage cage in the garage if you have suitcases or a few boxes to store.

I have a smart TV with Netflix, Disney + and Apple TV. As well as Chromecast connected. The stereo has Bluetooth to stream from your phone or computer. I usually like to have some chilled Spotify tunes on when I'm hanging out at home. I'm always happy to hear new music, so if we have different tastes, even better.

Home features

  • Air-conditioning
  • Living area heating
  • Broadband Internet
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes washer
  • Storage room
  • Balcony, patio or deck
  • Courtyard, garden or yard
  • BBQ facilities
  • Neighbourhood views
  • Electronic security
  • Elevator / Lift

Bills and expenses

Internet is $35 each per month (NBN).
Electricity and water together are around $40 each a month depending how much we use the air con/heater. Electricity is billed monthly, and water is billed quarterly.
It's a bright apartment so we don't need lights on during the day, and it gets sunlight through the whole day in winter, so it's not as cold as the rest of Melbourne. In summer the sun is directly overhead, so we don't get the brunt of the heat. North facing is the best set up.

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
Female, straight
Age group
36 to 40 years
Smoking at home
No cat or dog
Main interests
  • Art and culture
  • Cooking and food
  • Creative interests
  • Fashion
  • Health and fitness
  • Movies
  • Music
  • Natural therapies
  • Personal development
  • Reading
  • Shopping
  • Socialising
  • Spirituality
  • Television
  • Travel
  • Writing
About the occupants
I work in creative industries - actor/photographer/writer. I do freelance work and usually work from home.

Normally I head out with mates for lunch/dinner on the weekends, go to the beach, or see a band or new movie, and I tend to travel interstate to see family 3-4 times a year. Otherwise I'm hanging at home photo editing or writing/doing creative work... or catching up on a TV series.

During lockdown I spent my outdoor time on the Maribyrnong river. It's a lovely place to go for walks and only 15 mins walk from the apartment within 5km. It kept me sane.

I'm OCD in the tidiness department - I like a chill home, I'm not a party person, but occasionally have a friend over for dinner or a movie night. I'm not gonna lie, I do enjoy the nana life of an evening. I don't have visitors over very often.

I enjoy cooking, and eat pretty healthy most of the time with the occasional Uber eats indulgence. I'm into personal development, I don't meditate as much as I should, but I'm definitely into personal growth and subscribe to eastern spiritual philosophies. I lean towards the left on social and political issues but I'm open minded and empathetic of other people's point of view so I tend to get along with anyone who isn't a jerk regardless of religious or political views.
Compatible people
I've been sharing since I was a teenager and I've found that the best housemates are the ones who can communicate openly and maturely, and respect each other's space and belongings. Just making sure we're on the same page about things like visitors and knowing each other's boundaries about food sharing, use of shared space and just generally using common sense to make sure we're not putting each other out or making each other feel uncomfortable. Housemates who are good with money and know how to pay bills on time and pitch in for shared household items.
Full time student bookworms, working professionals and motivated working creatives welcome!
I'm keen to live with someone who does their own thing but is open to good conversation and the occasional movie night.

So if you're tidy with a positive outlook and know how to communicate, then hit me up to come see the place.

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
Any gender/sexuality
Age group
18 yrs+
Smoking at home
Without a cat or dog