Alphington

Melbourne

Home type
Apartment
Home size
2 bedrooms
Parking
Uncovered off-street

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Single$185 per week (excludes bills)
Date available
17 January 2020 for 1 week plus
Bedroom size
Medium bedroom (double bed size)
Bedroom furniture
Without a bed
Features
  • Shared bathroom
  • Built-in wardrobe
  • Good view or outlook
Security bond
1 month
Other information
The bedroom (unfurnished) is big enough for a double bed and a small desk, or a queen bed on its own, with a pretty generous built-in wardrobe, and there’s a lovely, permanently sunny view over a fancy green garden with magnolias and chickens in it. There’s also a free parking space for you to use.

Home Description

Description of the home

Do you love peaceful tree-lined streets full of dogs and fancy houses? Do bike paths and eucalypts fill you with joy? Then you should definitely come live in Alphington! I am moving to Perth to pursue my PhD, so I'm on the hunt for someone to join my lovely housemate Oakley in his little two-bedroom apartment.

I am subletting for the next month until 17 Jan for $750. If you choose to stay on and are a good fit with Oakley, rent from 17 Jan onwards is $804 pcm (the bond is the same amount) plus bills, and you’d be signing onto the lease – it's currently on a month-to-month, but the landlord has just offered a new 12-month lease and is pretty chill about approving lease transfers if you do need to leave.

The apartment is tucked away in the south of Alphington, between Darebin Creek and the Yarra River. The area is super-quiet and safe, and really aesthetically pleasing. The 546 bus from Heidelberg stops at Yarra Bend Park, Fitzroy Pool/Brunswick Street, Melbourne Uni and Queen Vic Market and is a three-block stroll from the house. Alphington Station (on the Hurstbridge line) is a ten-minute walk away – the train takes just under 20 mins to get to Flinders Street. The 508 bus to Northcote Plaza and Moonee Ponds also leaves from the station. There are four native parklands easy walking distance from the front door (pics attached), and two major bike paths (Darebin Creek Trail and Main Yarra Trail) run right past!

The house itself is modest – the kitchen is clean and functional and Oakley has heaps of kitchenware, a food processor and a rice cooker. The bathroom is also nice and clean with a washing machine, ample storage, and lovely water pressure in the shower. The loungeroom is low-key and cosy and it comes with a couple of insanely comfy recliners and a real nice painting of a tiger. There's wall space if you'd like to hang something - there are no hooks up at the moment.

If you’re queer-friendly and think this sounds like a decent place to live, please send me a DM on Messenger and we can sort out a time to meet.

P.S. We're not allowed to say yes to smokers (also this breaks my heart but no large furry pets are allowed 😭)! The unit is up a flight of stairs, so there’s also no wheelchair access.

Home features

  • Living area heating
  • Broadband Internet
  • Clothes washer
  • Neighbourhood views

Bills and expenses

Bills for gas, electricity, and internet are divided equally between you and Oakley.

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
Male, gay/bi
Age group
18 to 24 years
Smoking at home
Non-smoker
Pets
No cat or dog
Main interests
  • Animals and pets
  • Art and culture
  • Community work
  • Cooking and food
  • Creative interests
  • Current affairs
  • Fashion
  • Health and fitness
  • Movies
  • Music
  • Reading
  • Socialising
  • Travel
  • Video games
  • Writing
About the occupants
I'm the one leaving (Bri), so here's a little bit from Oakley: I’m a recent Masters graduate at Unimelb, and have a background in both zoology and botany! I currently work for Birdlife Australia and a climate charity, and as a biology lab demonstrator during the uni semester. I'm pretty quiet when I'm home but always up for a good chat - in my free time I’m either out birdwatching, looking at flowers on a bushwalk, or marathoning Drag Race and Jane the Virgin. I also bake a REALLY mean brownie (thanks, Stephanie Alexander) and have a secret passion for Nintendo. Don't even think about beating me in Mario Kart 8.
Compatible people
Anyone who's chill, a good communicator and cleans up after themselves will be a good fit.

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
Any gender/sexuality
Age group
18 to 40 yrs
Smoking at home
Non-smokers
Pets
Without a cat or dog