Sydney - North Sydney and Hornsby

Home type
Home size
3 bedrooms
Uncovered off-street

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Singles$300 per week (excludes bills)
Couples$600 per week (excludes bills)
Date available
19 June 2024 for 6 months plus
Bedroom size
Large bedroom (queen bed size)
Bedroom furniture
With or without a bed
  • Own bathroom
  • Built-in wardrobe
Security bond
2 weeks
Other information
Large living room connected to the bedroom for personal occupation/use.
New shared kitchen with one other only

Home Description

Description of the home

The house is fully furnished with comfortable lounges and a good sized rear- verandah with barbeque and seating: comprising a renovated older style 3 -4 bedroom Californian Bungalow with two separate office areas ( one also available) it is located 1.8 kilometres from Hornsby and within 6 minutes walking distance to Waitara railway station and 10 minutes walk to Normanhurst station.

The house has a settling character which has been sympathetically extended to incorporate a much larger open floor plan and large lounge room with a slow combustion fire heater. Ornate features with leadlight windows, polished boards; high pattern ceilings with front and rear verandahs creates an imposing charm.

The bedroom available is reasonably large; has contemporary built-in wardrobes with central air con through-out with zoned areas. Immediately off the subject bedroom is a large verandah room with separate access off the front verandah. The carpeted closed verandah off the bedroom room is exclusively for the occupant and is suitable for rec area, private office or study.

Home features

  • Air-conditioning
  • Living area heating
  • Cable or satellite TV
  • Broadband Internet
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes washer
  • Clothes dryer
  • Study or office
  • Storage room
  • Balcony, patio or deck
  • Courtyard, garden or yard
  • BBQ facilities

Bills and expenses

I am a single occupant and absent from the house for long periods of time (up o 3-4 months at a time) so if I'm there during the billing period, the bills will be equitably apportioned.

Outgoings for the house include:
water, electricity and gas

An off-street car space is provided within a pavd area at the front of the house.
cable/wifi internet
Water for the garden represents a significant part of the water bill. Water charge will be fixed at a nominal amount to reflect showering and domestic consumption.

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
Male, straight
Age group
41+ years
Smoking at home
No cat or dog
Main interests
  • Art and culture
  • Business
  • Cars or motorbikes
  • Computers or Internet
  • Cooking and food
  • Current affairs
  • Fashion
  • Health and fitness
  • Movies
  • Music
  • Natural therapies
  • Personal development
  • Reading
  • Shopping
  • Socialising
  • Television
  • Travel
  • Writing
About the occupants
Hi, I'm Lindsay, I'm a semi-retired professional guy. I am active and fit; have a young open mind and relate to people from all backgrounds and diversities. Im fair and reasonable but as in all shared facilities there are simple rules.
My wife has passed in so I'm the sole occupant and overall not at home very much, often for 6 months at a time.... Travelling and visiting parent, friends relatives, etc.

My room is at the other end of the house with its own shower and access. The rental room is at the front of the house and well away from my area. Half the house can be closed off with french doors to retain privacy and separate space if required. The room offered has a separate but more or less unshared bathroom. Both are close to the kitchen which is new fully equipped. The rental room as aforementioned has a large enclosed veranda with leadlight windows, blinds and a large desk plus sideboard. Furniture is negotiable but a large queen bed with mattress and linen etc can be provided. Off-street parking is at the front of the house.
Compatible people
Reliability, trust, fairness, tidiness and a balanced temperament are required.
Im easy-going , open-minded, and tolerant. I have a young outlook but remain unobsessively principled.
Best to meet in person for mutual evaluation.

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
  • Females (str)
  • Males (str)
  • Females (gay/bi)
Age group
18 yrs+
Smoking at home
  • Non-smokers
  • Outdoors okay
Without a cat or dog