Annandale

Sydney

Home type
House
Home size
2 bedrooms
Parking
No off-street parking

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Single$280 per week (excludes bills)
Couple$350 per week (excludes bills)
Date available
4 August 2021 for 6 months plus
Bedroom size
Medium bedroom (double bed size)
Bedroom furniture
Without a bed
Features
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Wardrobe or rack
Security bond
1 month
Other information
Great place. Bedrooms upstairs, yours has an ensuite ( the room looks smaller in the photos due to the king size bed but it is a medium-large sized room), there are steep terrace stairs split between the rooms and no shared walls apart from with the neighbours who are a family we are friends with. Big window facing away from the street side. The street is quiet either way as is the place apart from a few sirens on a friday night as we are off Parramatta road, but I never hear trucks, and we are off the main part of the flight path. There is another bathroom downstairs combined with bath tub, shower and laundry. Large kitchen, dining room and very homely and warm living room. There would be room for someone with a fridge, washing machine, couch, TV and if you have them as the other roomie is taking his (his couch not photographed), if not most of the house will get sorted out by me or us. It really is a gem of a place.

Home Description

Description of the home

Old style Annandale terrace, apparently it used to be a butchers shop many many years ago. We still have the red polished concrete slab in the living room. Polished floor boards, big yard, two bathrooms, your room has an ensuite. Heaps of space, the garden is a sanctuary for the soul, sun drenched with sails, native plants and a succulent garden, an eternal work in progress! This place is amazing, right near the Annandale hotel set to reopen soon wedged between the wonderful Nelson and Trafalger Streets of the Dale. Walking distance to Newtown and 5 mins from buses at Parramatta road, 15 minutes to Stanmore Station on foot.

We got it at the start of covid when the rental market went belly up and scored pretty well and low balled haha, a little unheard of very lucky. As you can see this place is lived in and usually a bit more tidy, but I am waiting until the other roommate is out to do the next big clean for now as I will rearrange the whole joint and there will be a trip to the tip in order.

Home features

  • Living area heating
  • Broadband Internet
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Courtyard, garden or yard

Bills and expenses

Electricity, Gas, Internet, Water. 50/50
Options to Split Stan / Netflix etc

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
Male, straight
Age group
36 to 40 years
Smoking at home
Non-smoker
Pets
No cat or dog
Main interests
  • Art and culture
  • Bars, pubs or clubs
  • Cooking and food
  • Creative interests
  • Health and fitness
  • Movies
  • Music
  • Reading
  • Spirituality
  • Writing
About the occupants
It's going to be just me and you, so obviously we'll need to be a good fit! I'm Toby, creative industry professional, well travelled, about to turn 40 and I love exercise, yoga, cycling and hiking, cheese and wine, good whisky, cooking and movies in any order. Getting to a place in life where a quiet time is a good time, that said music is always welcome on the record player. Not big on TV, or trash TV junkies (I actually can't stand this as it clogs up the house and our lovely loungeroom with noisy rubbish) but I do love movies and a good series. I am after a room mate with their own life to live. My previous room mate is moving out with his partner after a great year living together, he is a tradie and someone who works consistent hours during the week, this worked well. I am out and about a lot with friends, running or on the bike, hiking / camping when we can, and at the gym/yoga. I have family or a friend over for lunch or dinner most weeks. I got the place for the dining room as my last place didn't have a nice one, as well as the garden where you can find me most Sundays. This works for both of us if we can have a meal, a chat and a laugh now and again, no party animals please but no recluses either. You can warm the house all you want. We all know the deal, clean up after yourself, be nice and we can all get along :) I trained as a PT over Covid (why not?), so I train people in the yard now and again. It could happen more, it might not. Depends on work and life choices. Be cool, be open, be fair and play nice.
Compatible people
Someone willing to compromise and discuss preferences, openness and communication is key, as is being personable, present and respectful. Words are great, but I feel like no one knows anything until you look them in the eye, no remote enquiries. Rent is monthly, bond is non negotiable as is the price which is 50/50 for the place and very reasonable if not a steal. I look forward to meeting you and all the best on your search.

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
Any gender/sexuality
Age group
25 yrs+
Smoking at home
  • Non-smokers
  • Outdoors okay
Pets
Pets okay