Sturt

Adelaide

Home type
House
Home size
3 bedrooms
Parking
Uncovered off-street

Private bedroom

Rent amount
Single$150 per week (excludes bills)
Date available
18 July 2019 for 6 months to plus
Bedroom size
Medium bedroom (double bed size)
Bedroom furniture
Without a bed
Features
  • Shared bathroom
  • Built-in wardrobe
  • Air-conditioner
  • TV aerial outlet
Security bond
Discuss
Other information
This room is upstairs and also has a security screen - more to keep the sun out in Summer. The room we are renting out is 3.2m x 3m and has a 2 door built in robe (measuring 1.7m x .5m), so it can fit a Queen Sized bed, however, there wouldn't be a lot of extra space for bedroom furniture.

Home Description

Description of the home

This fully furnished (apart from the bedroom) 4 bedroom, 2 story house is a 5 min walk from Marion Shopping Centre, 5 min from Seacliff Beach, 7 min from Glenelg, 20 min from the city (10 min walk to the local train station) and is just off Sturt road, just down the hill from Flinders Uni. The house also has an outdoor BBQ area under a vergola and a lap pool out the back.

We live in a quiet and friendly area.

In doors, upstairs there are the bedrooms, bath room (with a bath) and a landing area, which is where most movie, football and Netflix watching is done. Downstairs there is a large open kitchen/living/dining area, laundry, toilet, a large front room and entrance area.

There are two areas 'to chill' so there is always a bit of space and people don’t need to get under each other’s feet all the time.

Home features

  • Air-conditioning
  • Cable or satellite TV
  • Broadband Internet
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes washer
  • Clothes dryer
  • Courtyard, garden or yard
  • BBQ facilities
  • Swimming pool

Bills and expenses

Electricity, Gas, Water, Foxtel, Internet, Netflix - all divided into 1/3's

Occupants Description

Gender & sexuality
Male, straight
Age group
  • 18 to 24 years
  • 41 years or over
Smoking at home
Non-smoker
Pets
No cat or dog
Main interests
  • Bars, pubs or clubs
  • Business
  • Community work
  • Cooking and food
  • Movie goer
  • Music
  • Socialising
  • Sports
  • Television
  • Travel
About the occupants
Hi there, my name is Tim. I am a single 42yo male and work full time in both projects in remote Aboriginal communities and in the AFL system. I am very down to earth, a country boy from the South East of SA, who has spent time in the Northern Territory and is very invested in Australian Rules football. Because of this I travel frequently, particularly during the AFL season.

I am a knockabout bloke who enjoys a beer now and then and because of my work, I have spent many years having younger people live with me. This involves helping younger people learn how to cook, pay the bills and generally just learning to be a good person. I also like to connect with their parents, so for young people moving to Adelaide for the first time, there is always an open line of contact and the spare bedroom in the house is always available for parents who may be visiting from out of Adelaide and need a place to stay.

Angus is 18 and is also from the SE region of SA. Angus has moved to Adelaide to try his hand at SANFL football and work full time. He is also a pretty casual person and is very invested into his footy; this means our household - whilst certainly friendly and social - isn't a party house and is very 'athlete' focused. This doesn't mean you need to be an athlete to live with us but if you like sport (especially AFL) and understand our house is skewed towards sports people and what their lifestyle entails, you will fit in well!

We would prefer a person working full time or a uni student and whilst it isn’t set in stone, our place is suitable for a younger person. We aren’t looking for couples, however, if you have a partner of course they are welcome to visit and stay from time to time!
Compatible people
We are very casual people and enjoy spending time together, however, it is important not to be under each others feet all the time.

We aren't into having parties or anything like that, however, that doesn't mean you can't have friends over! We are a social household and we enjoy a laugh and joke, a quiet beer together now and then and as mentioned earlier, have dinners together when we are all home. Someone who likes to engage but at the same time, give space to everyone else and understand that there are other people in the house is important.

We also need someone who is happy to share their duties with the chores around the house and we put a little time aside each week to keep the house looking respectable.

We also need someone who is willing to share (equally) the cooking duties for the house. Catching up for a chat over dinner is a great way to keep engaged together. Each week we put some money aside (an equal amount from each person) which goes into a tin and from this, the cost of the weekly meals comes out of this and any spare money from that is then used for household cleaning products, swimming pool products and general household products that we all share; cooking oil, toilet paper, washing powder etc

Flatmate Preferences

Gender & sexuality
  • Males (str)
  • Males (gay/bi)
Age group
18 to 30 yrs
Smoking at home
  • Non-smokers
  • Outdoors okay
Pets
Without a cat or dog